2019 Ashanti Regional Inter-School & College Boys Soccer Competition (Elimination Series) Qualification

(This is a 4-day exercise. 8 groups in each day)

Day 3

Schools that are playing today ’21st November 2019

A total of 32 Schools will qualify to play in the final tournament at Baba Yara Sports Stadium, Kumasi.

The top finish schools from each group today will be among the 32 schools that will compete for the finals of the Tournament which will be held at Baba Yara Sports Stadium.

Sixteen (16) Schools have already qualified after Day 1 & Day 2

  1. Agona Sec Tech

  2. Sakafia

  3. Toase SHS

  4. Gyaman Pensan SHS

  5. Osei Kyeretwie SHS (Okess)

  6. Beposo SHS

  7. Kumasi Academy (Kumaca)

  8. Kenyasi SDA

  9. Adu Gyamfi SHS

  10. Mankranso SHS

  11. Prempeh College

  12. Okomfo Anokye SHS

  13. Asanteman SHS

  14. Adanwomase SHS

  15. Antoa SHS

  16. Juaben SHS
Shocking Results after day 2.

The 1977 Champions, Effisco which happens to be the 4th oldest Second Cycle institution in the Ashanti Kingdom (founded on 12th May 1943 by one Mr. E. R. Addow, alias Kwaku Mosi, ) after Okess 1937, Osei Tutu 1940 and Mancell College 1942 failed to qualify for the 2019 edition.
Effisco in 1977 were the champions in the region by the then talented Samuel Opoku Nti ‘Lord Zico’ who later played, Tarkwa Gold Stars, Asante Kotoko and Ghana Black Stars, a former Asante Kotoko General Manager.
Effisco after 1977 best in the Tournament final was in 2006 edition which was held at Konongo ‘Waterloo’ Park when Kumasi Sports Stadium was under a Renovation process. They reached Semi-Finals and placed 4th after Opoku Ware defeated them in the 3rd place playoff match.

The 2015 runner up Agogo Collins also failed to qualify after losing the slot to Okomfo Anokye SHS from Wiamoase.
Agogo Collins in 2015 lost the Grand Final to Coach Bashir Hayford’s Obuasi Sec Tech

Day 3 Fixtures
Group 17.

  1. Islamic SHS, Kumasi

  2. Adu Gyama Community School

  3. St Joseph, Ahwiren.

  4. Ofoase Kokoben SHS.

venue: Kumasi Technical Institute Park.

Group 18.

  1. Dwamena Akenten, Offinso

  2. Dadease Agric

  3. Sekyedumase SHS.

  4. Bankoman SHS.

Venue: Opoku Ware School Park.

Group 19.

  1. Kumasi High School

  2. Agona SDA

  3. Ejuraman SHS

  4. Osei Adutwum SHS

Venue: Osei Kyeretwie SHS Park.

Group 20.

  1. Osei Tutu, Akropong

  2. Christ The King, Obuasi

  3. Nkenkansu SHS.

  4. Dompoase SHS.

Venue: Kumasi Academy SHS Park.

Group 21.

  1. T.I Ahmadiyya, Kumasi

  2. Oppong Memorial SHS, Kokofu.

  3. Banka Community

  4. Krofa SHS.

Venue: Prempeh College Park.

Group 22.

  1. Kumasi Anglican SHS (KASS)

  2. Bompata Presby

  3. Agric Nzema SHS

  4. St Francis Catholic, Adu Gyama

Venue: Armed Forces SHS Park.

Group 23.

  1. Kumasi Sec/Tech School ( KSTS)

  2. Ofoase, Asante Akyim

  3. Kofi Agyei SHS, Bampenase.

  4. St Michael’s, Offinso- Ahenkro.

Venue: Kumasi Girls Park

Group 24.

  1. Jachie Pramso SHS

  2. Barekese SHS

  3. Bonwire SHS

  4. Spiritan SHS

Venue: Kumasi Anglican SHS Park.

By: Bright Yeboah Taylor ‘BYT’