A ten (10) member board of the National Film and Television Institute (NAFTI) has been inaugurated by the Minister of Education, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh last Wednesday, March 14.

In his speech, he reiterated government’s desire to “ empower the future generations to achieve great heights in the quest for academic achievement and excellence in order to facilitate the transformation of Ghana through the creative and media arts industries.”

The minister also tasked the board to reinstate the past glory of NAFTI as the best film institute in Africa.

Below are the members who constitute the board.

Dr. Samuel Anyetei (Rector of NAFTI)

Mr. John Yaw Adjei Appiah (Representative of the Ministry of Information)

Juliet Asante (Ghanaian filmmaker and CEO of the Black Star International Film Festival)

Mr. Ernest Boateng (Representative for Ministry of Education)

Mr. Daniel Owusu-Nyampong (representative of the Friedrich-Ebert Foundation)

Mr. Ernest Kofi Abbeyquaye (Ghana Film Industry)

Professor Kofi Agyekum (School of Performing Arts, University of Ghana)

Mr. George Oppong (Centre for National Culture)

Mr. Ivan Quashigah (Association of Cinematographic Film Exhibitors and Directors)

The nomination of the representative of the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation is still pending