Accra Hearts of oak hitman Joseph Esso has changed from wearing the fabled No.11 shirt and has picked up the No.10 shirt for the upcoming NC Special Competition.

The No.11 shirt now goes to former Arouras skipper Michael Sarpong while Anthony Quayson,who used to wear the No.10  will now be in the No.7 shirt.

The former African Champions on Friday announced the jersey numbers of their 30--man squad for the NC Special Competition which begins next week.

Esso picked the fabled No.11 shirt when he joined the Phobians at the beginning of the 2017/18 season.

While it is a general notion that No.10 jerseys are worn by  greats, Hearts of oak, on the hand, have the utmost veneration for the number 11.

It is not immediately known what informed the change, but Esso's exploits at the rainbow club makes him equally fit for the No.10 shirt, which became vacant after the exit of Winful Cobbina.

He now picks a new challenge of joining some other club greats like Benjamin Shamo Quaye and Emmanuel Adjogu,who was in the No.10 shirt when the club won THE CAF Champions League.

The club's establishment in 11 November 1911 has made it synonymous  with the number 11, around which its 107-years old history revolves.

It has an historic and legendary lineage at the club, with Mohammed Polo, Ablade Kumah and Bernard Dong Bortey all being previous owners.

Mohammed Polo, who is regarded by some pundits  as one of the greatest dribbler ever to live on earth, made strides with the famous "fearsome five" in the 70s and was part of Ghana's 1978 African cup winning squad.

He came 4th in the voting for the 1977 African Player of the Year award, after the Phobians lost in the finals to Hafia FC of Guinea.

Samuel Ablade Kumah, who played alongside club legend Benjamin Shamo Quaye, wore the No.11 jersey for both club and country and eventually was the captain for the famous 1992 Black Meteors bronze-winning squad that became the first African football team to win a medal in the Olympics.

Benard Dong Bortey, on the hand, added a new image to the clubs No.11 by becoming a joint top goal scorer with teammate Charles Taylor in the 2001/02 league.

He was also part of the clubs historic confederation cup winners in 2004/5 season, where his goal against Santos in South Africa was nominated for CAF awards.

Other players like Samuel Afadzi, Samuel Ayisi and Samuel Yeboah have had the honour to wear the shirt but failed to make any major impact in the club.

Below is the full squad of Hearts 26 man squad with their jersey numbers.

??2 Fataw Mohammed

??3 Benjamin Agyare

??4 Daniel Kodie

??5 Malik Akowuah

??6 William Denkyi

??7 Anthony Quayson

??8 Benjamin Afutu

??9 Abubakar Touare

??10 Joseph Esso

??11 Michelle Sarpong

??12 Dominic Eshun

??13 Kojo O. Junior

??14 Robert A. Sowah

??15 Mohammed Alhassan

??16 Benjamin Mensah

??18 Selassie B. Bakai

??19 Aminu Alhassan

??20 Christopher Bonney

??21 Charles Mccarthy

??22 Richmond Ayi

??23 Kofi Kodzi

??25 Ibrahim Sumaila

??26 Raddy Ovouka

??27 Manaf U. Gumah

??28 Stanley A. Agyei

??29 James Sewornu

??30 Ernest Sowah

??17 Yussif Alhassan

??24 Enoch Addo