Ghana’s Parliament has reconstituted the leadership of its committees in a massive shake-up.

The Chairman of the Subsidiary Legislation Committee, Mahama Ayariga, Joseph Yieleh-Chireh, Fiifi Kwetey, are some of the big names who have lost their positions in the latest change.

According to the report passed by the House, Bolga East MP, Dr Dominic Ayine is now the Chairman of the Subsidiary Legislation Committee replacing Bawku Central MP, Mahama Ayariga.

The changes according to reports were made to ensure the Minority discharges its oversight responsibilities well.

Mahama Ayariga who is already serving in the ECOWAS Parliament is mostly absent from the country and this negatively impacts his output, thereby necessitating his replacement with a former Deputy Attorney General, Dr Dominic Ayine.

Also Wa West MP, Joseph Yieleh Chireh, who is a member of the Pan-African Parliament, has been replaced with Juaboso MP, Kwabena Mintah Akandoh as the Ranking Member of the Health Committee.

From the majority side, Manhyia North MP, Collins Owusu Amankwah replaces Yaw Frimpong Addo as the Chairman of the Government Assurances Committee.

Aside from the fact that some replaced committee leaders are serving in the ECOWAS and AU Parliaments, it remains unclear the reasons behind some of the changes for the committee leadership positions.